Allo' Expat Denmark - Connecting Expats in Denmark
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Denmark Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Denmark
Denmark General Information
Denmark Expatriates Handbook
Useful Numbers
Immigration Information
  Entry Visa
Work Permit
Denmark and Foreign Government
Denmark General Listings
Denmark Useful Tips
Denmark Education & Medical
Denmark Travel & Tourism Info
Denmark Lifestyle & Leisure
Denmark Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Partly Cloudy/Windy
1(USD) = 0.7496(EUR)
Sat | 11:20AM

Denmark Immigration Information Entry Visa


Required by all except the following for stays of up to 3 months:

(a) nationals of EU, UK, USA, Australia, Japan, Iceland, Norway, Finland & Sweden;

(b) nationals of Andorra, Argentina, Bermuda (provided holding a British Dependent Territories passport), Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR), Hungary, Israel, Korea (Rep), Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macau (SAR), Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Switzerland, Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela.

(c) Holders of a UN Laissez-passer.


Holders of the following also do not require a visa:

1.‘British Citizen’ passports, including those from the Channel Islands and Isle of Man, with the endorsement ‘Holder has the right of re-admission' or ‘Holder is entitled to re-admission to the United Kingdom’ or ‘Holder has the right of abode in the United Kingdom’, provided holders of such passports have not stayed outside the UK for more than 2 years (including the expected stay in Denmark); ‘British Dependent Territories Citizens’ passports (BDTC) issued to persons with the right of abode in Gibraltar with the endorsement 'Holder is defined as a UK national for Community purposes'; British National Overseas passports (BNO) with permanent residence in Hong Kong.

2.‘British Protected Persons’ passports endorsed ‘Holder is subject to control under the Immigration Act 1971’.

3. Passengers continuing their journey by the same or first connecting aircraft within 24 hours may not require a transit visa, provided holding valid onward or return documentation and not leaving the airport. However, nationals of the following countries always need a visa, even if transiting by the same aircraft: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Congo (Dem Rep), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, India (not required for Indian nationals in possession of a valid visa to an EU or EEA country, USA or Canada), Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka (the above list is subject to changes; please check with the Embassy or Consular section at Embassy). However, if any of these nationals are residents in an EU country, the USA or Canada, and hold permission to return a minimum of 3 months after transiting Denmark, a visa is not required.

Note: Denmark is a signatory to the 1995 Schengen Agreement.

Required Documents

Passport valid for 3 months after the last day of stay required by all except the following:

(a)nationals of Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden in possession of identification papers (eg driver’s licence or identity card) provided travelling entirely within Scandinavia;

(b)nationals of other EU countries holding a valid national ID card and holders of a Gibraltar Identity Card issued to British Citizens or British Dependent Citizens for tourist visits of up to 3 months.

Note: For nationals of EU countries and the USA, passports need to be valid for duration of stay.

Application is to be forwarded to the Danish Consulateor Consular section at the Danish Embassy. Travellers visiting just one Schengen country should apply to the Consulate of that country; travellers visiting more than one Schengen country should apply to the Consulate of the country chosen as the main destination or the country they will enter first (if they have no main destination).

See more information on the next page... (next)